TF2 Tips

More
10 May 2010 00:45 #5626 by Shroud
TF2 Tips was created by Shroud
Ok, so I ordered a copy of TF2 and it should be here in a couple days. So, I was wondering if you guys had any tips you would be willing to share so I don't feel like a total noob when I start to play. Everything is welcome, class tips, general play, tricks, what not to do, etc. I figured a lot of you guys play so there must be some usefull knowledge among you. ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 May 2010 00:58 #5627 by technobear
Replied by technobear on topic Re:TF2 Tips
expect to get your butt handed to you alot..

More
10 May 2010 01:30 #5628 by Nacelle
Replied by Nacelle on topic Re:TF2 Tips
Start by playing a medic. Follow a heavy around, but keep everyone in your area healed. It's possible to get the most points in a round if you're constantly keeping everyone's health up.

More
10 May 2010 01:48 #5629 by Lersar
Replied by Lersar on topic Re:TF2 Tips
Weapons were something I didn't understand at first. I kept seeing a Scout with a different shotgun than me, or a Heavy who had slow-down effect with bullets, and couldn't figure out how to get them.

Essentially you can get items, including weapons, two ways. The first is to achieve the milestone achievements (there are three) for the class you want the gun for. For instance, consider the scout. To unlock the Force-A-Nature shotgun, you have to complete Milestone 1, which is obtaining 10 Scout achievements, such as capturing three points in one life or killing 50 enemies while stunned. You can press Esc while in game to view achievements from the menu, and even set the ones you're aiming for to display on your HUD.

Second, you can find them randomly by playing on servers. It is random, but as I understand it they did tweak it so that it happened more often here recently. You can also find hats and other things.