titleWhen trying to think of a name for our look at Asus’s new Z87 mainstream motherboard options I went through countless bad jokes and Bond Goldmember comments. I came to the conclusion that much like Asus I would let the boards speak for themselves. Today we are going to take a look at the Asus Z87 Pro and Z87 Plus, both what they call Channel boards. In other words this is Asus’s standard lineup. In the past I have been extremely impressed with what Asus had to offer in their standard lineup; hopefully they can keep that up. Let’s see what they have to offer.

Product Names: Asus Z87 Pro and Asus Z87 Plus

Review Sample Provided by: Asus

Written By: Wes

Pictures by: Wes

 

Specifications

Model

Z87-PRO

Z87-PLUS

CPU Socket

LGA1150 socket for 4th Gen. Intel® Core™ i7/i5/i3, Pentium®/Celeron® Processors

LGA1150 socket for 4th Gen. Intel® Core™ i7/i5/i3, Pentium®/Celeron® Processors

Chipset

Intel® Z87 Express Chipset

Intel® Z87 Express Chipset

Memory

Up to DDR3 2933 (OC)

Up to DDR3 2933 (OC)

VGA Output

DP, HDMI, DVI, RGB

mDP, HDMI, DVI, RGB

DIP version

Dual Intelligent Processors 4 with 4-Way Optimization

Dual Intelligent Processors 4 with 4-Way Optimization

CPU Power

DIGI+ 12-phase

DIGI+ 8-phase

DRAM Power

DIGI+ 2-phase

DIGI+ 2-phase

PCIex16 Slots

3

3

PCIex1 Slots

4

2

Multi-GPU

CrossFireX / SLI

CrossFireX / SLI

Gbit LAN

1 (Intel)

1 (Intel)

Wireless Connection

Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g/n
Dual-band 2.4/5GHz & BT v4.0

None

Audio

Realtek 1150 8-ch HD

(High quality 112dB SNR stereo playback output ), DTS

Realtek 892 8-ch HD, DTS

Storage

8*SATA 6Gb/s

8*SATA 6Gb/s

USB

8*USB 3.0 (6 ports at back panel, 2 ports at mid-board)
8*USB2.0

8*USB 3.0 (6 ports at back panel, 2 ports at mid-board)
8*USB2.0


z87pro 6


Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by Dreyvas #31352
Dreyvas's Avatar
kzinti1 wrote:
You people do realize that you're supposed to be looking at your monitor, to see what this motherboard actually does, don't you?
If all you want is a play pretty then go and buy yourselves some cat toys at your local PetsMart.
Did the reviewer actually try and overclock these motherboards or just leave them at a very common, and slow, 4.5GHz.?
Did the heatsinks actually work or were the chips running too hot and needed some liquid cooling?
Same with the cpu's. Is liquid cooling demanded or can the users just stick with cooling on air or some everyday closed liquid cooler instead of a complete custom loop?
Did you actually push these motherboards to their limits or stick with stock settings?
Will you ever do a proper review or just leave it as almost a word for word description by ASUS?
Finally, ASUS, since people here seem to only judge a computer motherboard by color (of all things!), then why not make them all a basic and totally black color scheme?
Since most people are too stupid to understand a common "beep code", then why not make a breakout LED panel that can be mounted in an external 5.25" bay and then these users can start using a solid door, instead of one that has a window, and then they can just ignore your color schema and get back to operating a computer. Instead of just sitting there and staring at their motherboards like a bunch of slack-jawed idiots?

Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by Arxon #31351
Arxon's Avatar
kzinti1 wrote:
You people do realize that you're supposed to be looking at your monitor, to see what this motherboard actually does, don't you?
If all you want is a play pretty then go and buy yourselves some cat toys at your local PetsMart.

I guess you don't know what case mods are. Let me inform you.

Case modification (commonly referred to as case modding where an individual project is referred to as a case mod) is the modification of a computer chassis (often just referred to as the case), or a video game console chassis. Modifying a computer case in any non-standard way is considered a case mod. Modding is done, particularly by hardware enthusiasts, to show off a computer's apparent power by showing off the internal hardware, and also to make it look aesthetically pleasing to the owner.
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by garfi3ld #31349
garfi3ld's Avatar
I'm happy to answer any questions you have, and you are welcome to hate on my review all you would like. But we do ask that in the future you treat both our contributors and community members with the same respect that we will give you.
kzinti1 wrote:
Did the reviewer actually try and overclock these motherboards or just leave them at a very common, and slow, 4.5GHz.?

As the review pointed out, being a motherboard review not a CPU review we wanted to focus on things that are motherboard dependent, not CPU dependent. Haswell has its CPU voltage regulation on the CPU itself. This means that you are going to see similar overclock results from board to board. Not only that but the results from our engineering sample most likely won't be the same as what you see with a retail CPU. So we focused on overclocking results that would vary from board to board, the auto overclocking results.

kzinti1 wrote:
Did the heatsinks actually work or were the chips running too hot and needed some liquid cooling?
Liquid cooling is never really needed on a motherboard but with Haswell voltage regulation being on the CPU the cooling on the Pro board is a lot more than is actually needed. I pointed this out IN the review.
kzinti1 wrote:
Did you actually push these motherboards to their limits or stick with stock settings?
This goes back to what was mentioned before
kzinti1 wrote:
Same with the cpu's. Is liquid cooling demanded or can the users just stick with cooling on air or some everyday closed liquid cooler instead of a complete custom loop?
This is a motherboard review, not a CPU review. But to answer your question, all of our testing was done with air cooling (as you would see if you read the review). Water cooling isn't needed and the difference in performance between air cooling and closed loop water cooling is minimal in most cases.
kzinti1 wrote:
Finally, ASUS, since people here seem to only judge a computer motherboard by color (of all things!), then why not make them all a basic and totally black color scheme?
Since most people are too stupid to understand a common "beep code", then why not make a breakout LED panel that can be mounted in an external 5.25" bay and then these users can start using a solid door, instead of one that has a window, and then they can just ignore your color schema and get back to operating a computer. Instead of just sitting there and staring at their motherboards like a bunch of slack-jawed idiots?
Some people want a window in their case. If you think the only reason they put windows in cases is to see the diagnostic LED you are sorely mistaken. The same goes for the color scheme, some people pick their motherboards to match a look that they are going for in their case along with its features.
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by kzinti1 #31348
kzinti1's Avatar
You people do realize that you're supposed to be looking at your monitor, to see what this motherboard actually does, don't you?
If all you want is a play pretty then go and buy yourselves some cat toys at your local PetsMart.
Did the reviewer actually try and overclock these motherboards or just leave them at a very common, and slow, 4.5GHz.?
Did the heatsinks actually work or were the chips running too hot and needed some liquid cooling?
Same with the cpu's. Is liquid cooling demanded or can the users just stick with cooling on air or some everyday closed liquid cooler instead of a complete custom loop?
Did you actually push these motherboards to their limits or stick with stock settings?
Will you ever do a proper review or just leave it as almost a word for word description by ASUS?
Finally, ASUS, since people here seem to only judge a computer motherboard by color (of all things!), then why not make them all a basic and totally black color scheme?
Since most people are too stupid to understand a common "beep code", then why not make a breakout LED panel that can be mounted in an external 5.25" bay and then these users can start using a solid door, instead of one that has a window, and then they can just ignore your color schema and get back to operating a computer. Instead of just sitting there and staring at their motherboards like a bunch of slack-jawed idiots?
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by Satansoul #31275
Satansoul's Avatar
Thanks! I knew there was one. The one color I have yet to see is a white pcb with black accents.
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by Lersar #31273
Lersar's Avatar
I like it, definitely more than the blue theme.
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by garfi3ld #31272
garfi3ld's Avatar
ECS also does gold

Asus will still be doing Red and Black as well as their TUF series also. This replaces the blue mainstream motherboards.

lanoc.org/review/motherboards/5807-asus-z77-roundup?start=2
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by Satansoul #31271
Satansoul's Avatar
I seen another set of motherboards with the gold color just can't remember the name. Though I do love red and black more.
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by garfi3ld #31270
garfi3ld's Avatar
I would be really interested in hearing from more people on what they think of the new color. Post up people!!
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by Leonresevil2 #31269
Leonresevil2's Avatar
I actually like how it looks.
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by Debo #31258
Debo's Avatar
The color scheme hurts my eyes. Would never want to put a window on that board. =/
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by garfi3ld #31257
garfi3ld's Avatar
A look at two of Asus's mainstream Z87 motherboards

 

We have 472 guests and 7 members online

rsssteam 

channel.png
LanOC
home.png

channel.png
Team 1

channel.png
Team 2

channel.png
Looking To Play

channel.png
Highwayshark
locked.png

channel.png
CS:GO

 
client_output_muted.png
DeathShadow
channel.png
Diablo III

 
client_player.png
nokor
channel.png
FFXIV

channel.png
Dota 2

channel.png
LoL

channel.png
Minecraft

channel.png
AFK

 
client_input_muted.png
Lersar
 
client_input_hardware.png
AweSam
 
client_player.png
deb0
 
client_player.png
Garfi3ld

Our Server Info: ts.lanoc.org