Advertisement

titleOne of, if not the best mouse to come through our doors was the SteelSeries Xai. Steel Series isn’t a company that normally just pumps out new products unless there is a need. But how do you follow up with a perfectly balanced, no frills gaming mouse with such a good reputation? For starters you try to keep it as close to the original while still improving it. When Steel Series sent out the PR for the Sensei last month I was a little skeptical but still excited to see how they could improve on the Xai. With it finally in my hands I can’t wait to dive into the details!

Product Name: SteelSeries Sensei

Review Sample Provided by: SteelSeries

Review by: Wes

Pictures by: Wes


Specifications

Counts Per Inch

1-5,700

Double Counts Per Inch

11,400

Frames Per Second

12,00

Inches Per Second

150+

Acceleration

30G

Sensor Data Path

True 16 bit

Lift Distance

1-5mm

Buttons

8

Cable

6.5 Feet

Height

1.5In

Width

2.7In

Length

4.9In

Weight

.22lbs or 102 grams

Processor

32-Bit ARM

Compatibility

Windows 2000

Windows XP

Windows Vista

Windows 7

Mac OS X

Macros

Yes


Log in to comment
Arxon's Avatar
Arxon replied the topic: #19733 11 Sep 2011 06:42
You could have used fraps on the options video for a clearer picture.
garfi3ld's Avatar
garfi3ld replied the topic: #19735 11 Sep 2011 07:00
I know, we wanted to try out the use of the video camera. We are planning on using it in the future for things that Fraps can't do.
Arxon's Avatar
Arxon replied the topic: #19737 11 Sep 2011 10:04
Yeah understandable. Do you guys have the light stuff with the reflective umbrellas?(don't know what they are called)
garfi3ld's Avatar
garfi3ld replied the topic: #19739 11 Sep 2011 10:18
no our lighting is typically rudimentary at best. I am hoping to get better lighting after the new year. The cost of CES puts a major damper on things and picking up the new camera was a big hit also.

So what do you guys think of the Sensei? This is one of only I think two reviews published on the mouse right now worldwide (atleast that we can find).
khanov's Avatar
khanov replied the topic: #19799 14 Sep 2011 12:30
Thanks for the review, good read.
I'm curious about one thing that you left out, did you try the "Exactaim" and "ExactAccel" ?
These seem to be Steelseries name for on-the-fly adjustment of acceleration. I know most gamers would just turn that **** off, but I was wondering if you played with it at all (and if so what are your impressions) ?
garfi3ld's Avatar
garfi3ld replied the topic: #19800 14 Sep 2011 14:46
I did try out the Exactaim and Exactaccel. Having come from the Xai I already knew what I preferred. I crank up the Exactaim to cut out the "jitter" or shakyness that a laser mouse sometimes gets on a poor quality surface. It also does a good job of keeping your aim steady in game if you get slightly shaky.

Exactaccel is a 1 - 10 setting for in mouse acceleration. I am like most other gamers who prefer no acceleration on my mouse. With it turned up to its highest setting of 10, responsiveness is considerably higher. Depending on how quickly you move your mouse moving a few inches can move the curser all the way across the screen or only a few inches. If you can get used to it, accel can be great for a sniper who needs detailed movement when aiming but the ability to turn around quickly if needed.
Wingless92's Avatar
Wingless92 replied the topic: #19802 14 Sep 2011 19:46
I wish we had a release date on this. I want one!
garfi3ld's Avatar
garfi3ld replied the topic: #19803 14 Sep 2011 19:58
They haven't announced a date but they keep saying SOON. I suspect it will be over the next few days.
Wingless92's Avatar
Wingless92 replied the topic: #19919 20 Sep 2011 21:24
Shipping the first week of October. Gonna wait till it hits Amazon then i'll pick one up.
Wingless92's Avatar
Wingless92 replied the topic: #20353 11 Oct 2011 01:36
They are sold out right now on Amazon. I am holding off until they are back in stock. I really don't want to mess around with returning it if I don't like it with another website.
Wingless92's Avatar
Wingless92 replied the topic: #20512 23 Oct 2011 23:29
Picked mine up on Amazon. So far i'm liking it but I am still getting used to it. Much better than the Razer mouse that I had awhile back. Liking that I can change the colors to match my keyboard.

We have 839 guests and no members online

Live Streams
beyondthesummit  Online!
Viewers:  50990

esl_csgo  Online!
Viewers:  7202

esl_dota2  Online!
Viewers:  20

Advertisement

rsssteam 

channel.png
LanOC
home.png

channel.png
Team 1

channel.png
Team 2

channel.png
Looking To Play

channel.png
CS:GO

channel.png
Diablo III

channel.png
Dota 2

channel.png
FFXIV

channel.png
LoL

channel.png
Overwatch

channel.png
World of Warcraft

channel.png
Highwayshark
locked.png

channel.png
AFK

 
client_input_muted.png
Lersar
 
client_player.png
AweSam
 
client_input_hardware.png
Kelf

Our Server Info: ts.lanoc.org