titleTomb Raider is one of those franchises that has been around forever. Whether you are a lifelong fan, or someone who buys different installments periodically, there is always something to do with Lara Croft on her insane adventures. This time we take a look at the plainly titled Tomb Raider, a reboot by Crystal Dynamics that hopes to bring the franchise back to level of glory it had on the original Playstation. I can only hope that there is something as silly and exciting as locking the butler in the freezer to keep me entertained.

Game: Tomb Raider

Published By: Square Enix

Developed By: Crystal Dynamics

Review Sample Provided By: Square Enix

Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, PC (Review Sample)

Genre: Action Adventure, Platformer

Release Date: March 5th, 2013

MSRP: $49.99

Written By: Brennon

Screenshots By: Brennon

Story

The story of this game follows Lara Croft on her very first expedition. She sets out with a small crew of a television reality show on a ship called Endurance. The final goal is to find the lost city of Yamatai, which Lara believes to be located somewhere in the Dragon’s Triangle near Japan. The ship is caught in a storm on the way their and completely demolished. The crew is then stranded on a strange island and left to survive. Immediately it is apparent that there are strange happenings on this island as Lara is chased by a weird being and dragged away from the rest of the surviving crew. After she escapes Lara wanders around the island finding more evidence of a culture currently living on the island. Lara wanders around, finding more of her friends and discovering more of the secrets of the island. During her exciting adventures she learns more about the elusive figure named Himiko, who legend has it, is a very vital part of the island.

Tomb Raider_5

Tomb Raider_23

Tomb Raider_35

Tomb Raider_31

Posted: 1 year 1 month ago by Debo #31854
Debo's Avatar
Much more Uncharted then Tomb Raider but that obviously isn't a bad thing. A little short but perhaps I am just better at games then when I was 12. Achievements weren't unlocking for me when they should but whatever. I was surprised with just how brutal the game was.
Posted: 1 year 1 month ago by SpeedBump #31812
SpeedBump's Avatar
trgtprctc wrote:
Anyone who picked this up for $12.50 during the Steam sale got one hell of a deal.

I actually paid zero for it. Used a $50 steam credit I won at FITES LAN in the case mod contest. Woot for me. Lol
Posted: 1 year 1 month ago by SpeedBump #31811
SpeedBump's Avatar
Little update. Finished the game awhile ago. Great game. As for the 670issues...all gone. Dont know what they did but I have no problems now. Guessing some auto updates got pushed thru. The game looks fabulous with 1920x1200 Res on ultra settings.
Posted: 1 year 1 month ago by trgtprctc #31806
trgtprctc's Avatar
Finally got around to finishing the main story. This definitely goes down as one of my all time favorite games. Anyone who picked this up for $12.50 during the Steam sale got one hell of a deal.
Posted: 1 year 3 months ago by trgtprctc #30869
trgtprctc's Avatar
I picked up this game recently on a 50% off Steam sale, and I am LOVING it. Quick time key mashing scripted events are irritating, but everything else about the game is enthralling. I have 2 OC'd EVGA 670 FTW cards in SLI, and have only seen one crash. The graphics are fantastic at the highest detail settings.

I am particularly mesmerized by the story of a "virgin" Lara Croft developing into the Tomb Raider badass portrayed in the movies. Definitely worth the money....
Posted: 1 year 4 months ago by Fildy #30349
Fildy's Avatar
SpeedBump wrote:
Good review. I have a bit over 10 hours in atm. Those hours have me a little over 50% as shown in my save slots. I am REALLY enjoying the game for the most part, and I have to agree 110% with the excessive use of the quick time events.

As for puzzles, for me..I enjoy them, but unlike you Fildy, I don't crave them. I am more than happy to stumble across them, figure them out and move on.

Controls...I have been using a XBox 360 and find it much easier to move about than with the keyboard. That is probably due to me being an "arrow key" user instead of WASD. I struggled at first with the shooting events with multiple enemies using the gamepad, but at this point in the game, I am doing decent with it. I switched back and forth for a bit between GP and Mouse/keyboard and that also seems to get the job done.

I REALLY wish I could play the game at highest settings on my GTX670, but alas, I can't Horrible crashes mixed with even more horrible sound loop lockups plague my setup. Seems there is a major issue with the 600 series cards, especially the factory overclocked versions. Mine will run the game ONLY if I manually UNDERclock it to nearly the lowest speed. At those settings, I can't hold high enough FPS to run ultra settings. Soo sad they have not released a WORKING patch for this yet. Well, Im off to put in a few more hours with Laura. Ahhhh, sweet, sweet Laura. BTW...she is one tuff SOB. SOOO much punishment and pain and yet she continues on...

I read about the crashing issues with 600 series cards, but as of now I haven't experienced any issues myself so I was unable to write about them. I do think the game grew on me a bit over time, but it had a bunch of room for improvement in my eyes.
Posted: 1 year 4 months ago by SpeedBump #30343
SpeedBump's Avatar
Good review. I have a bit over 10 hours in atm. Those hours have me a little over 50% as shown in my save slots. I am REALLY enjoying the game for the most part, and I have to agree 110% with the excessive use of the quick time events.

As for puzzles, for me..I enjoy them, but unlike you Fildy, I don't crave them. I am more than happy to stumble across them, figure them out and move on.

Controls...I have been using a XBox 360 and find it much easier to move about than with the keyboard. That is probably due to me being an "arrow key" user instead of WASD. I struggled at first with the shooting events with multiple enemies using the gamepad, but at this point in the game, I am doing decent with it. I switched back and forth for a bit between GP and Mouse/keyboard and that also seems to get the job done.

I REALLY wish I could play the game at highest settings on my GTX670, but alas, I can't Horrible crashes mixed with even more horrible sound loop lockups plague my setup. Seems there is a major issue with the 600 series cards, especially the factory overclocked versions. Mine will run the game ONLY if I manually UNDERclock it to nearly the lowest speed. At those settings, I can't hold high enough FPS to run ultra settings. Soo sad they have not released a WORKING patch for this yet. Well, Im off to put in a few more hours with Laura. Ahhhh, sweet, sweet Laura. BTW...she is one tuff SOB. SOOO much punishment and pain and yet she continues on...
Posted: 1 year 4 months ago by Lersar #30342
Lersar's Avatar
Man, a lot of those screen shots could be backgrounds. Very nice captures!
Posted: 1 year 4 months ago by trgtprctc #30341
trgtprctc's Avatar
I have been intriguied by this franchise but have never bought a game. I will add this to my Steam wish list and pick it up on sale based on your recommendation. Thank you Fildy!
Posted: 1 year 4 months ago by Teh_tourist #30338
Teh_tourist's Avatar
FIRST

 

We have 606 guests and 3 members online

Help support the website and keep ads to a minimum by using our Amazon affiliate link 

rsssteam 

channel.png
LanOC
home.png

channel.png
Team 1

channel.png
Team 2

channel.png
Looking To Play

channel.png
Highwayshark
locked.png

channel.png
CS:GO

channel.png
Diablo III

channel.png
FFXIV

channel.png
Dota 2

channel.png
LoL

channel.png
Minecraft

channel.png
AFK

 
client_player.png
Lersar
 
client_player.png
Deb0
 
client_player.png
Garfi3ld
 
client_input_hardware.png
ozzydosborn
channel.png
lanoc staff
locked.png

Our Server Info: ts.lanoc.org