titleWhen Sandy Bridge E launched we went from everyone running the fairly cool Sandy Bridge processors to people actually having to worry a little more about what they select. This was made even more important because Intel didn’t include a stock cooler this time around, opting to sell their own water cooling kit for those looking to cool their 3960X’s. Soon after Cooler Master approached me about putting their Hyper 612 PWM, a heatsink that runs half the price of the Intel water cooling, up against the Intel Water Cooling. You want me to put your cooler up against something twice its price? SURE!  Let’s dig in and take a look at the Hyper 612 PWM and its performance.

Product Name: Cooler Master Hyper 612 PWM

Review Sample Provided by: Cooler Master

Review by: Wes

Pictures by: Wes


image 7

image 8

image 9

image 11


Specifications

Model

RR-H612-20PK-R1

CPU Socket

Intel Socket:
LGA 1366 / 1156 / 1155 / 775 *

AMD Socket:
FM1 / AM3+ / AM3 / AM2+ / AM2

CPU Support

Intel:
Core™ i7 Extreme / Core™ i7 / Core™ i5 / Core™ i3 / Core™2 Extreme / Core™2 Quad / Core™2 Duo / Pentium / Celeron

AMD:
Phenom™ II X4 / Phenom™ II X3 / Phenom™ II X2 / Phenom™ X4 / Phenom™ X3 / Athlon™ II X4 / Athlon™ II X3 / Athlon™ II X2 / Athlon™ X2 / Athlon™ / Sempron™

Dimension

140 x 128 x 163 mm (5.5 x 5.5 x 6.4 inch)

Heat Sink Material

Copper Base / 6 Heat Pipes / Aluminum Fins

Heat Sink Weight

806g (1.78 lb)

Fan Dimension

120 x 120 x 25 mm (4.7 x 4.7 x 1 inch)

Fan Speed

600 - 2000 RPM (PWM) ± 10%

Fan Airflow

24.9 - 82.9 CFM ± 10%

Fan Air Pressure

0.3 - 2.7 mmH2O ± 10%

Bearing Type

Long Life Sleeve Bearing

Fan Life Expectancy

40,000 hours

Fan Noise Level (dB-A)

9 - 36 dBA

Connector

4-Pin

Fan Weight

104g (0.23 lb)


Posted: 2 years 4 months ago by jj_Sky5000 #24718
jj_Sky5000's Avatar
Or just build a new pc every couple of months, Problem solved
Posted: 2 years 4 months ago by Lersar #24717
Lersar's Avatar
THUMPer wrote:
If I can't get the heatsink clean with air, either it be Canned air or an air compressor I take it off and wash it in warm water.
If you are proactive and clean your sinks on a weekly basis depending on how dusty your house it and how often your PC is on, it shouldn't have too many issues.
Exactly. Cleaning doesn't necessarily mean removing the heat sink, some compressed air now and then will be enough to survive you between the removal and cleaning ritual. Some fresh thermal compound is never a bad thing either. It's not anything unique to CM of course.

As far as a dust factor in reviews, I can't even begin to think of where you would start with that. There are so many factors to consider. And like Wes said, every heatsink is going to get dusty. Trying to rate a cooler on 'dustiness' would be like rating a meal on how dirty it leaves the plate.
Posted: 2 years 4 months ago by garfi3ld #24716
garfi3ld's Avatar
I never have to clean my fans, radiators, or heatsinks. Higher end cases all come with filters on the fans to prevent the dust from getting into your case. Of course there will still be some, but a quick clean out once a year handles that for me. Normally this happens when I am swapping something out
Posted: 2 years 4 months ago by Twodavez #24715
Twodavez's Avatar
So you really take off your heatsink every week, cleak off the processor contact point, wash it/blow it out, then replace the thermal paste and put it back on?

I know i'm complaining here, but there has got to be a better way of managing dust... Wish they could make screens to put over all your fans. Most cases that i've seen don't have this problem addressed, and maybe it's about time we start talking about it. High air flow just means more dust! :angry:

I've heard it's good to use a used dryer sheet to wipe off your monitor beause it transfers a little of the static and repells dust, i must say i do this and it works pretty well. But i'm not sure how it would interact with the PC's power surging through it.

Maybe this requires it's own thread, but i'd like to hear about how people maintenance their PC's especially in relation to the dust issue...
Posted: 2 years 4 months ago by THUMPer #24711
THUMPer's Avatar
If I can't get the heatsink clean with air, either it be Canned air or an air compressor I take it off and wash it in warm water.
If you are proactive and clean your sinks on a weekly basis depending on how dusty your house it and how often your PC is on, it shouldn't have too many issues.
Posted: 2 years 5 months ago by garfi3ld #24705
garfi3ld's Avatar
They all fill with dust though. Cleaning the dust out of water cooling is about the same as the heatsink with compressed air. You would have to remove the fan on ether. Washing with water would actually be easier with air cooling simply because it doesn't have the pump and the wiring for the pump, you wouldn't want to corrode the connection.

There isn't any way to benchmark a dirty performance. I think its expected that you clean the heatsink out to keep top performance. Similar to maintenance on your car.
Posted: 2 years 5 months ago by Twodavez #24704
Twodavez's Avatar
So i have a question, does dust and long term performance factor into the review at all? i have a very similiar CM heatsink, and it's very hard to get all the dust out of the fins, and requires taking off the fan and cleaning behind it, where most of the dust appears. While i'm not sure how else they could fix this, i'm sure with the radiator being more accessable, it might be easier to clean with the water cooling unit. Couldn't you just take it apart and wash it with water? That's much harder to do with a attached Heatsink as additional care would need to be taken for the contact point...

Something i never really see in reviews is the "dust" factor. I find this almost as important as the performance, as if it's filled with dust, it's not going to do what it's supposed to...
Posted: 2 years 5 months ago by garfi3ld #24475
garfi3ld's Avatar
A little late but our latest review

 

We have 556 guests and 8 members online

rsssteam 

channel.png
LanOC
home.png

channel.png
Team 1

channel.png
Team 2

channel.png
Looking To Play

channel.png
Highwayshark
locked.png

channel.png
CS:GO

channel.png
Diablo III

channel.png
FFXIV

channel.png
Dota 2

channel.png
LoL

channel.png
Minecraft

channel.png
AFK

 
client_input_muted.png
Lersar
 
client_input_hardware.png
AweSam
 
client_player.png
deb0
 
client_player.png
Wang
 
client_player.png
Garfi3ld

Our Server Info: ts.lanoc.org