Multiplayer

This Tomb Raider game does include multiplayer, which at first I was very excited about because I believe it is the first game in the series to do so. There are a few different game types, the obvious team deathmatch, a mode called rescue, a mode called cry for help, and a free for all mode. I was excited to try out the rescue and cry for help game types because they sounded interesting and unique. Unfortunately after 30 minutes of trying to get into a rescue or cry for help game I was unable. I attempted to both ranked and casual game modes to no avail. This is really frustrating because I was for once looking forward to playing a multiplayer mode and was left out in the rain when it refused to put me into a game.

I did test the team deathmatch mode. There was a decent amount of customizability in the multiplayer. First up you are able to pick your skin for both factions in the game. As the “good guys” you can select from any of the main characters in the game. On the Solarii side you can pick from any of the enemies that you happen to come across during the main storyline. This gives a good amount of variation on character models and allows for a more visually appealing multiplayer experience. You can also customize the weapon load out and specialties that your character has between games. Better weapons, abilities and character skins will all cost you points however, and you will be playing for quite some time before you can start slaying people as Lara Croft.

Tomb Raider_47

Tomb Raider_48

Tomb Raider_45

The gameplay itself was quite generic in my eyes and it felt like another multiplayer mode that was tacked on to appease the masses. It certainly isn’t bad, and I enjoyed myself playing it, but I didn’t find it too special and probably wouldn’t waste away the nights killing hordes of enemies. Plus, with the difficulty finding any matches in the other game types I don’t think that I would keep coming back just to play death match over and over again.

Log in to comment

Teh_tourist's Avatar
Teh_tourist replied the topic: #30338 09 Apr 2013 23:44
FIRST
trgtprctc's Avatar
trgtprctc replied the topic: #30341 10 Apr 2013 03:30
I have been intriguied by this franchise but have never bought a game. I will add this to my Steam wish list and pick it up on sale based on your recommendation. Thank you Fildy!
Lersar's Avatar
Lersar replied the topic: #30342 10 Apr 2013 03:45
Man, a lot of those screen shots could be backgrounds. Very nice captures!
SpeedBump's Avatar
SpeedBump replied the topic: #30343 10 Apr 2013 06:12
Good review. I have a bit over 10 hours in atm. Those hours have me a little over 50% as shown in my save slots. I am REALLY enjoying the game for the most part, and I have to agree 110% with the excessive use of the quick time events.

As for puzzles, for me..I enjoy them, but unlike you Fildy, I don't crave them. I am more than happy to stumble across them, figure them out and move on.

Controls...I have been using a XBox 360 and find it much easier to move about than with the keyboard. That is probably due to me being an "arrow key" user instead of WASD. I struggled at first with the shooting events with multiple enemies using the gamepad, but at this point in the game, I am doing decent with it. I switched back and forth for a bit between GP and Mouse/keyboard and that also seems to get the job done.

I REALLY wish I could play the game at highest settings on my GTX670, but alas, I can't Horrible crashes mixed with even more horrible sound loop lockups plague my setup. Seems there is a major issue with the 600 series cards, especially the factory overclocked versions. Mine will run the game ONLY if I manually UNDERclock it to nearly the lowest speed. At those settings, I can't hold high enough FPS to run ultra settings. Soo sad they have not released a WORKING patch for this yet. Well, Im off to put in a few more hours with Laura. Ahhhh, sweet, sweet Laura. BTW...she is one tuff SOB. SOOO much punishment and pain and yet she continues on...
Fildy's Avatar
Fildy replied the topic: #30349 10 Apr 2013 23:12

SpeedBump wrote: Good review. I have a bit over 10 hours in atm. Those hours have me a little over 50% as shown in my save slots. I am REALLY enjoying the game for the most part, and I have to agree 110% with the excessive use of the quick time events.

As for puzzles, for me..I enjoy them, but unlike you Fildy, I don't crave them. I am more than happy to stumble across them, figure them out and move on.

Controls...I have been using a XBox 360 and find it much easier to move about than with the keyboard. That is probably due to me being an "arrow key" user instead of WASD. I struggled at first with the shooting events with multiple enemies using the gamepad, but at this point in the game, I am doing decent with it. I switched back and forth for a bit between GP and Mouse/keyboard and that also seems to get the job done.

I REALLY wish I could play the game at highest settings on my GTX670, but alas, I can't Horrible crashes mixed with even more horrible sound loop lockups plague my setup. Seems there is a major issue with the 600 series cards, especially the factory overclocked versions. Mine will run the game ONLY if I manually UNDERclock it to nearly the lowest speed. At those settings, I can't hold high enough FPS to run ultra settings. Soo sad they have not released a WORKING patch for this yet. Well, Im off to put in a few more hours with Laura. Ahhhh, sweet, sweet Laura. BTW...she is one tuff SOB. SOOO much punishment and pain and yet she continues on...


I read about the crashing issues with 600 series cards, but as of now I haven't experienced any issues myself so I was unable to write about them. I do think the game grew on me a bit over time, but it had a bunch of room for improvement in my eyes.
trgtprctc's Avatar
trgtprctc replied the topic: #30869 19 May 2013 01:35
I picked up this game recently on a 50% off Steam sale, and I am LOVING it. Quick time key mashing scripted events are irritating, but everything else about the game is enthralling. I have 2 OC'd EVGA 670 FTW cards in SLI, and have only seen one crash. The graphics are fantastic at the highest detail settings.

I am particularly mesmerized by the story of a "virgin" Lara Croft developing into the Tomb Raider badass portrayed in the movies. Definitely worth the money....
trgtprctc's Avatar
trgtprctc replied the topic: #31806 21 Jul 2013 05:08
Finally got around to finishing the main story. This definitely goes down as one of my all time favorite games. Anyone who picked this up for $12.50 during the Steam sale got one hell of a deal.
SpeedBump's Avatar
SpeedBump replied the topic: #31811 21 Jul 2013 23:36
Little update. Finished the game awhile ago. Great game. As for the 670issues...all gone. Dont know what they did but I have no problems now. Guessing some auto updates got pushed thru. The game looks fabulous with 1920x1200 Res on ultra settings.
SpeedBump's Avatar
SpeedBump replied the topic: #31812 21 Jul 2013 23:38

trgtprctc wrote: Anyone who picked this up for $12.50 during the Steam sale got one hell of a deal.


I actually paid zero for it. Used a $50 steam credit I won at FITES LAN in the case mod contest. Woot for me. Lol
Deb0's Avatar
Deb0 replied the topic: #31854 25 Jul 2013 22:24
Much more Uncharted then Tomb Raider but that obviously isn't a bad thing. A little short but perhaps I am just better at games then when I was 12. Achievements weren't unlocking for me when they should but whatever. I was surprised with just how brutal the game was.

We have 1123 guests and one member online

supportus