Gameplay

The gameplay in Tomb raider is much of what we have come to expect and love from the series. There are plenty of weapons and enemies to use them on. There are also tons of tombs to explore and treasures to shove greedily into your pockets. Another interesting addition this time around was journals. The journals are just books that you can locate and collect around the world that come with audio clips and text attached. Each person’s journal has several entries scattered around the ruins of Yamatai. Each entry reveals a little more about that persons personal story and a little more about the overall story of the game.

Tomb Raider_26

Tomb Raider_37

Tomb Raider_38

Tomb Raider_11

There are a few different things that this Tomb Raider game has to offer that I haven’t seen previously. The first is the fact that the game is entirely open world. There is a storyline, and you do have to follow it, but you can go back and explore previous areas to get ahold of artifacts or journal entries that you didn’t have the tools to get ahold of previously. Another new addition has to do with the open world part of the game as well. The game now has a built in salvage and upgrade system. The salvage system just allows you to gather parts as you explore the map and loot the corpses of enemies, and the upgrade system allows you to use these parts to upgrade your weapons, and tools to help with doing more damage and being able to get your hands on things what were previously out of your reach.  The final addition is the skill points that were added. The skill points can be used to upgrade one of three different talent trees to help with different things ranging from survival to weapon deadliness.

Tomb Raider_27

Tomb Raider_28

Tomb Raider_30

Tomb Raider_21

There are both things I wish there were more of and things I wish there were less of in the game. The things I wish there were less of are the quick time events and the silly cut scene events where you must hold forward to progress. I will cover these both a bit more later on in the review. The thing I wish there were more of is puzzles. Puzzles are what really make the Tomb Raider franchise one of the greats. The stories are all fine, and the gameplay as far as gunfights and jumping around is fun enough, but I want more puzzles! There are plenty of puzzles hidden away in the form of tombs to explore, and with the open world format of the game, you can easily stumble upon these at any point while playing, but I want more puzzles in the game. Make me work for the story. I can appreciate that it isn’t too difficult to just progress in the story, and someone who isn’t particularly interested in puzzles can progress without encountering many (if any, I don’t know I haven’t completed the story yet) puzzles. Like I said though, puzzles are an integral part of the franchise and I feel that introducing people to them, even just the tiniest bit throughout the story would make them fall in love.

Tomb Raider_1

Tomb Raider_25

Tomb Raider_36

Tomb Raider_43

Log in to comment

Teh_tourist's Avatar
Teh_tourist replied the topic: #30338 09 Apr 2013 23:44
FIRST
trgtprctc's Avatar
trgtprctc replied the topic: #30341 10 Apr 2013 03:30
I have been intriguied by this franchise but have never bought a game. I will add this to my Steam wish list and pick it up on sale based on your recommendation. Thank you Fildy!
Lersar's Avatar
Lersar replied the topic: #30342 10 Apr 2013 03:45
Man, a lot of those screen shots could be backgrounds. Very nice captures!
SpeedBump's Avatar
SpeedBump replied the topic: #30343 10 Apr 2013 06:12
Good review. I have a bit over 10 hours in atm. Those hours have me a little over 50% as shown in my save slots. I am REALLY enjoying the game for the most part, and I have to agree 110% with the excessive use of the quick time events.

As for puzzles, for me..I enjoy them, but unlike you Fildy, I don't crave them. I am more than happy to stumble across them, figure them out and move on.

Controls...I have been using a XBox 360 and find it much easier to move about than with the keyboard. That is probably due to me being an "arrow key" user instead of WASD. I struggled at first with the shooting events with multiple enemies using the gamepad, but at this point in the game, I am doing decent with it. I switched back and forth for a bit between GP and Mouse/keyboard and that also seems to get the job done.

I REALLY wish I could play the game at highest settings on my GTX670, but alas, I can't Horrible crashes mixed with even more horrible sound loop lockups plague my setup. Seems there is a major issue with the 600 series cards, especially the factory overclocked versions. Mine will run the game ONLY if I manually UNDERclock it to nearly the lowest speed. At those settings, I can't hold high enough FPS to run ultra settings. Soo sad they have not released a WORKING patch for this yet. Well, Im off to put in a few more hours with Laura. Ahhhh, sweet, sweet Laura. BTW...she is one tuff SOB. SOOO much punishment and pain and yet she continues on...
Fildy's Avatar
Fildy replied the topic: #30349 10 Apr 2013 23:12

SpeedBump wrote: Good review. I have a bit over 10 hours in atm. Those hours have me a little over 50% as shown in my save slots. I am REALLY enjoying the game for the most part, and I have to agree 110% with the excessive use of the quick time events.

As for puzzles, for me..I enjoy them, but unlike you Fildy, I don't crave them. I am more than happy to stumble across them, figure them out and move on.

Controls...I have been using a XBox 360 and find it much easier to move about than with the keyboard. That is probably due to me being an "arrow key" user instead of WASD. I struggled at first with the shooting events with multiple enemies using the gamepad, but at this point in the game, I am doing decent with it. I switched back and forth for a bit between GP and Mouse/keyboard and that also seems to get the job done.

I REALLY wish I could play the game at highest settings on my GTX670, but alas, I can't Horrible crashes mixed with even more horrible sound loop lockups plague my setup. Seems there is a major issue with the 600 series cards, especially the factory overclocked versions. Mine will run the game ONLY if I manually UNDERclock it to nearly the lowest speed. At those settings, I can't hold high enough FPS to run ultra settings. Soo sad they have not released a WORKING patch for this yet. Well, Im off to put in a few more hours with Laura. Ahhhh, sweet, sweet Laura. BTW...she is one tuff SOB. SOOO much punishment and pain and yet she continues on...


I read about the crashing issues with 600 series cards, but as of now I haven't experienced any issues myself so I was unable to write about them. I do think the game grew on me a bit over time, but it had a bunch of room for improvement in my eyes.
trgtprctc's Avatar
trgtprctc replied the topic: #30869 19 May 2013 01:35
I picked up this game recently on a 50% off Steam sale, and I am LOVING it. Quick time key mashing scripted events are irritating, but everything else about the game is enthralling. I have 2 OC'd EVGA 670 FTW cards in SLI, and have only seen one crash. The graphics are fantastic at the highest detail settings.

I am particularly mesmerized by the story of a "virgin" Lara Croft developing into the Tomb Raider badass portrayed in the movies. Definitely worth the money....
trgtprctc's Avatar
trgtprctc replied the topic: #31806 21 Jul 2013 05:08
Finally got around to finishing the main story. This definitely goes down as one of my all time favorite games. Anyone who picked this up for $12.50 during the Steam sale got one hell of a deal.
SpeedBump's Avatar
SpeedBump replied the topic: #31811 21 Jul 2013 23:36
Little update. Finished the game awhile ago. Great game. As for the 670issues...all gone. Dont know what they did but I have no problems now. Guessing some auto updates got pushed thru. The game looks fabulous with 1920x1200 Res on ultra settings.
SpeedBump's Avatar
SpeedBump replied the topic: #31812 21 Jul 2013 23:38

trgtprctc wrote: Anyone who picked this up for $12.50 during the Steam sale got one hell of a deal.


I actually paid zero for it. Used a $50 steam credit I won at FITES LAN in the case mod contest. Woot for me. Lol
Deb0's Avatar
Deb0 replied the topic: #31854 25 Jul 2013 22:24
Much more Uncharted then Tomb Raider but that obviously isn't a bad thing. A little short but perhaps I am just better at games then when I was 12. Achievements weren't unlocking for me when they should but whatever. I was surprised with just how brutal the game was.

We have 1109 guests and one member online

supportus